Aneri Shah
5/1/2013 01:08:58 am

Iphones are indeed "the right choice when buying a smartphone." Nowadays all the smartphones consists of pretty much all the same technology, but after finding out about how they are manufactured. Apple seems to be the most caring of its reputation and in addition, they are trying to stop outsourcing their jobs. Go Apple!

Reply
Heena Sondhi
5/12/2013 04:01:58 am

People nowadays cannot live without technology. In fact, it has become necessary for every person to have a cellphone. Life has become easier overtime, because of Smartphones. Smartphones offer a great amount of apps which helps us survive every day. I barely ever use the computer at home anymore because I'm always using the internet on my Samsung. Yes, of course, it has made people very lazy, but almost every single teenager has a smartphone. We tend to stay up to date with information and also with our technologies. What surprises me is that we are the first generations who were able to have cellphones, since cellphones first came out around 1994. That's cool !!

Reply
sean manganelli
5/12/2013 01:08:29 pm

the smartphones have changed America's society in a big way. technology have become more advanced from where it started from. as great as smartphones are i feel it has made America lazier and more dependent on a phone than depending on a person. instead of going out and finding out on their own people can just look it up in a matter of seconds. for me i do not have one so it shows that people do not need a smartphone to get through there daily life without having to constantly check out what people are posting every five seconds. overal this project showed alot and helped me understand what all went into to this new technology.

Reply
Tim Cook
5/1/2013 01:13:27 am

Thanks Aneri. We at Apple have been doing an amzing job improving working conditions and bringing jobs back to America. Thanks for all your positive feedback. You should purchase the upcoming iPhone 5S which I can't say any more about until it is released.

Reply
5/1/2013 01:15:10 am

Dang you Tim Cook, google phones are much better

Reply
Barack Obama
5/1/2013 01:17:54 am

EX-President Bush, I am sure that Apple is better. That explains why I'm a popular president. Give me a favor, read more about phones and features and then comment.I have better grammer too.

Reply
Isabelle Brown
5/1/2013 01:19:25 am

I think that smartphones are sort of neccesary, and it's a shame that they do actually cause mental problems etc. I think that because smart phones are relatively new; however, I don't understand how completely valid experiments could've been done to prove it causes problems "as you age" if smart phones themselves are only a few years old. I do think their use should be kept to a minumum use if possible, because they're used constantly and they're distracting, but I think that time will tell whether or not they are truly dangerous.

Reply
Gaelyn L.
5/1/2013 12:38:35 pm

Smartphones really do a lot for our culture these days. As a person who comes from a family that owns multiple apple products/smartphones, I know first hand of the dangers of technology becoming "addictive." It's good to know of the health hazards they may cause as well. Now when I use my dad's smartphone, I'll be the smart one and use it sparingly.

Reply
Kerri Roman
5/6/2013 01:53:39 am

I've gained a greater understanding about smartphones through this website. I never knew the up and comming products apple plans to sell like the iwatch and the space station. I do agree in that smartphones do make life a little easier and also make humans a little ore lazy. I think smartphones are an ethical problem, why is it that factory workers in China work endless hours on this product but don't make enough money to buy one?

Reply
Gianna Branella
5/7/2013 11:57:50 pm

The website was very well organized and I learned a lot of information about smartphones. Although they make life SO MUCH easier, there are some things wrong with them. For one, they're making us lazier as a society and with our smartphones they can just do everything for us. That could be a problem. As well, they aren't supposed to be in their pocket because of the risks of causing cancer, which is a huge concern considering cancer is a life-threatening disease.

Reply
Connor Mott
5/9/2013 09:58:29 am

I believe that smartphones are necessary. Although, I was previously unaware of the health risks associated with smartphones, such as radiation. I keep my life on my phone, and there would be many things I'd either forget about or not be able to do if I didn't have it. I found this website to be somewhat helpful in this topic, and now because i do realize like most people I am dependent on my phone. In the future, I will endeavor to use my phone less due to its long term health risks like caner and possibly Alzheimer's.

Reply
Hursh
5/9/2013 10:52:51 pm

Smartphones run our lives with the ability to access the internet, take pictures, use apps. The phones are overall better for our life and the negative health issues can easily be avoided. If a person is "addicted" to their smart phone, it isn't hard to put the phone away. Smartphones aren't like drugs, which require rehab. Nowadays, people tend to send text messages more than calling, so there is less radiation right there. Smartphones make life so much more convenient and help out with school work since some teachers allow them. Overall, smartphones are ethically acceptable to me and I'm glad I learned about the negative health affects.

Reply
Rick Carlson
5/9/2013 10:58:29 pm

An astonishing amount of people use Iphones around the world. No body really thinks about how the phone they are using is made. This website showed the whole other side of the phone and what kind of labor and materials goes into letting us text and play games and use social networking on our phones. Although these shops in China may seem bad, the unfortunate fact is that not many jobs in China are available and that although working conditions are not the same as conditions in the US, this is most likely the only job the workers in the Foxconn plant have available to them so they can put food on the table for their families.

Reply
Samsung
5/10/2013 12:48:08 am

Get the brand new Samsung Galaxy S 4!

Reply
Apple CEO Tim Cook
5/10/2013 12:57:25 am

Samsung please tell me all the features of your new Galaxy phone. I know for sure that the iPhone 5 is better as well as the upcoming iPhone. There's a reason the top selling US smartphone is the iPhone 5 and the second is the iPhone 4S.

Reply
Samsung
5/10/2013 12:58:47 am

Ok, I won't mention the galaxy 4 here anymore. I'm not going to set a comparison chart. That would make us at Samsung lose business.

Reply
Gary Panter
5/12/2013 04:07:13 am

I am always on my smartphone, but I was surprised at how much I did not know about it. I never knew that the radiation from my phone could be harmful, I thought that was a myth. I was shocked to read that the first smartphone was introduced in 1994, I always thought they were more of a 21st century technology. I was also a little scared to read about smartphones predisposing people to mental decline and causing high rates of Alzheimer's. After reading through this website, I have realized that the world is being dominated by technology and it is promoting laziness, which i am a victim of. Although I will not give up on using a smartphone because of how convenient it is, I will try to use it less.

Reply
Courtney Daniels
5/12/2013 06:03:49 am

I love my smartphone (Verizon's Samsung Stratosphere.. #TeamAndroid). It contains important information, pictures, dates, and apps that keep me connected to the people I care about at all times. Before reading the information on this site, I was unaware of the history and dangers that came with smartphones. As stated in previous comments, I had always assumed that smartphones were a thing of the 21st century. I didn't know that the first smartphone came out before I was even born. I also learned that smartphones expose people to mental decline as they age. That's a scary thing to consider for everyone in our generation. Even though the handheld computers on-the-go make our lives easier, they're highly addictive and make us more susceptible to life-threatening diseases like Alzheimer's and cancer.

Reply
Sargam Sondhi
5/12/2013 06:44:51 am

This site really fascinated me as I learned about all the history and and all the actual dangers about which I was unaware. Many people like me are also probably unaware of the cons of cellphones and how much harm they could actually do. Its scary to see all the harmful effects these cellphones can do to us such as The Alzheimer's Disease. Especially, because in todays world everyone is always busy on their phones and so it is making is more and more visible to these dangers.

Reply
Cornelius Muntazar
5/12/2013 10:27:33 am

Smartphones have become a huge part of peoples lives today. In my own personal experience I can say that smartphones are addictive. I couldn't imagine my life without smartphones rather technology. I believe that people should start trying to live without their phones, because we will become so dependent that we will not be able to do anything without our smartphones. The mental effects are crazy, and the statistics about Alzheimer seem real. There needs to be something done about this problem and done fast.

Reply
5/12/2013 11:33:31 am

Smartphones are definitely a huge issue these days. On the one hand, they're great. Now we can quickly access the Internet to answer and questions and search for whatever we want. We can communicate with other people in so many ways that it's hard to keep up. On the other hand, we are to be the first generation to live with these devices for our entire lives from the beginning. Who knows what will become of us! The last generation ended up having cancer issues from smoking tobacco and drinking too much; who's to say that we won't have issues down the road? I liked that you brought up the issue of possible cancer to come in the future from pressing smartphones to our heads. Ultimately, I am grateful for this great invention, but I am worried about what negative effects they will have on our health.

Reply
Salina Kuo
5/12/2013 12:11:49 pm

I personally rarely use my smart phone, but everyone around me seems to always have their's handy. It's easy to see that smartphones can become addictive because of their convenience and the fact that "everyone has one," it seems. It is true that smart phones are great to extend your knowledge and use technology advantageously, but most people would admit to just using their phones to go on instagram or play candy crush. As a generation, we are extremely dependent on technology, and even with proof of smart phones eventually causing cancer, I feel that we wouldn't be able to give them up.

Reply
Cait Kraemer
5/12/2013 12:56:43 pm

This site looks really cool. :D It also has a lot of interesting information on smartphones. Personally, I am on my smartphone A LOT. (Probably more than I really should be) I use my phone for anything from updating facebook/instagram, to checking emails or reading the news. I've never really thought of, though, what all the time spent on my phone could be doing to me. The threats of Alzheimer's or cancer are just downright scary, and not to mention the dangers of distracted driving because of phone/smartphone use.

Reply
Angelie Tolentino
5/12/2013 01:17:21 pm

From this site, I've realized that everyday use items can actually be very harmful to you. I heard about cell phones causing brain cancer and stuff like that but I've never believed it fully. But after reading into it on their blog, I find that it's kind of scary. I use my iphone a lot, and I'm rethinking of using it as much as I do now. Teenagers don't think about the cons of using their cell phone because they just want to update their status or go online. Yet they should rethink their actions. Damage to the brain or mental decline as we age sounds really scary...

Reply
Samama Mirza
5/12/2013 10:51:48 pm

The whole world relies on technology, so it would be hard to live without it. However, the radiation effects can be harmful, but they have decreased and they are not as bad as they used to be. Personally i dont htink i could live without my smartphone. Once you go smart you never go dumbphone?

Reply
Tom Evans
5/12/2013 10:59:09 pm

This website made me aware of the fact that even simple and extremely common items such as the cell phone can be dangerous. The brain is the most important and the most sensitive part of the body, and the idea that our cell phones could be causing damage is very bad. Most brain damage is irreversible, so this means that even using a cell phone some can be quite damaging. Also, cell phones have been found to be more damaging when used by children, which will certainly have an impact on parents that are thinking of buying their children cell phones.

Reply
Jess Schrading
5/13/2013 01:04:34 am

I think smartphones ore sort of incorporated into every day life by now, seeing as so many people have them. I could see how some people see smartphones as controversial, but I personally don’t. The pros outweigh the cons by so much. Sure they may make people lazy, but they also allow for more movement. You can now have internet and signal anywhere with a smartphone, which could potentially save a person. It sucks that they’ve been known to cause mental disorders, but since smartphones are a relatively new invention, there is a lot of room for improvement. I believe that smartphones definitely shouldn’t be the main focus of your life, but as an owner of an iPhone, I can’t admit that it is a large part of it.

Reply
Dimpie Shah
5/13/2013 01:38:03 am

I really liked your website because it was very informational. I don't have a smartphone but I am planning on getting one and now I have a little backround info on it too. Like I didn't know that smartphones existed since 1994. I know that today smartphones are a huge issue, but they aren't necessary. Smartphones are convenient but they are more of a luxury. I think people can go around with a flip phone and text from it too. Phones were usually meant to contact people for emergencies, not to goof off and play games. People also don't need to check Facebook every two minutes. Often times, people forget how to commuicate with others and are too busy caring about the material things in life and smartphones just encourage that. I am not against smartphones, but sometimes people need to consider the other important things in life like privacy, family, friends and in-person socializing.

Reply
5/13/2013 02:12:29 am

Wow thanks for the amazing feedback guys, keep on at it!

Reply
A'naiya C.
5/13/2013 05:47:42 am

The set up of this webpage was very modern and resembled Apple a little too. I have grown up in the age of modern technology so therefore I am a little bias when it comes to the ethics of Smartphones. The negative aspects do not over weigh the positives. Smartphones have become a neccesary part of almost every human's life. I understand why the rapidily growing technology should be a concern but I think there are other topics that are more important to be worried about. Smartphones are GREAT!

Reply
Paige Mckenna
5/13/2013 11:27:01 am

Smartphones nowadays are what everyone has. And with all positive things that they do like search the web and help us with tasks on the go it was interesting to learn about some more of the negative effects as well. In todays world people practically live on their phones but they dont realize the harmful effects that they bring. it was very interesting to learn more about the smartphones of today and this website did a good job of explaining it.

Reply
Tommy Delany
5/23/2013 01:45:54 pm

Smartphones are a great addition to the world today! Personally I am on my smartphone all the time. It is absolutely amazing how all the technology and knowledge can be put into such a little device. The advancement of the cell phone to the smartphone is just a little preview to what we can accomplish in the future. The shops that make the phones in China may not be the typical situation of the most likable but it does indeed give those people the chance to work and an opportunity they would not have had if it were not for the shops. All in all I loved the website and it was presented very well, I learned a lot!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.